Home > Christianity, Church, Youth Ministry > My Generation

My Generation

December 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This has been on my mind a bit lately, and I’d love to get some thoughts from those of you who read.

Weekly, I usually check out the headlines surrounding teenagers and young adults to really see what’s going on out there. And I’ll be honest, a lot of times it depresses me.

In this present decade of teenagers, let’s look at what they’re facing:

  • Sexting. Teenagers sending nude, semi-nude, or very explicit language through text-messages in order to “flirt.” (Just read an article dealing with this where a girl did so, broke up with her boyfriend, the picture leaked to school, and she committed suicide.)
  • Sexually Explicit Music. I mean, really…you don’t have to look much further than one post below this where I talk about Britney Spears’ song “3” which talks about group sex. Add that onto pretty much any other mainstream song from artists of the like and you’ll understand what I mean.
  • Failing Morals. The study found here essentially says that teenagers today think lying and cheating are the proper way to live ones life.
  • Increased sexual activeness. My buddy David over at iPopculture.net just posted about this yesterday.  1 in 4 teenage girls supposedly has an STD. Need I say more?
  • Apathy toward the church. Oh come on!  You know I talk about this frequently.  At least once a month I get on here and complain about apathy.
  • Broken families. Statistics show the unfortunate problem with broken families and its effect on the children. It’s horrid what can happen.
  • Lack of parental care/involvement. My other buddy Derek posted over at his blog about the issue. Parents seem to be less involved with family, especially children. Our church faces this constantly as parents send their kids to church on our bus, but won’t come with them and some of them don’t even know where they are sending their kids.

I could probably continue for a while, but that’s not my point. My point is not to belittle any of the problems that are facing teenagers, young adults, children, parents, etc. today. These are real problems. These problems must be addressed.  But, I have a different type of thought….

The same problems facing the generation today, are the same problems the world has always had!

Ok, so maybe Paul didn’t write to Ephesus and address sexting, or to Timothy to warn him about Britney Spears, but the root of the problems involving sexuality, apathy, brokenness, etc have always been around.  Sometimes, I get tired of hearing people complaining about “how bad the world is getting” and sitting on their butts doing nothing about it. When I read the things in the Bible and look at the history of the world to see the numerous sin problems facing the early church, I don’t see it a whole lot different than today, just to be honest. 

You can look at early Greece and see how homosexuality was a cultural norm there. You can look at societies where sex slaves were the norm. You can look at societies where marriage wasn’t held highly. You can look at societies and see all the things that we’re facing today.  

My point in saying this is to make people think about doing something to help people seek holiness, instead of sitting back and saying, “Man, this world sure is a crappy place! I’m glad I’m a Christian.  Now, let’s go fellowship together and not deal with the people who are dirty.”  While I would hope that those words would never actually be breathed out of a Christian’s mouth, in my opinion, the actions scream out that phrase too often.  

I get tired of hearing about “this world is just getting worse” from people. If it is, it is. If it’s not, it’s not.  The Bible I read doesn’t say, “Go into all the world and warn them that it’s only going to get worse, and then return to your comfortable pew to complain more about the sinners.”

If these problems of sexuality, broken families, and moral failure are facing our teenagers today, and we know that they’re wrong because we base our life and morality off of what is clear cut in Scripture, then guess what?  The same problem faced the people in Scripture. You know what this means?  We are still to be the light of the world that is to help bring healing and redemption to the world through the name of Jesus Christ!

So, in my opinion, there are essentially no new “problems” facing the society today.  Yes, sin finds it way to be used in technology or fame, but the sin is still sin.  And that sin can only be healed through Jesus Christ.

Maybe I’m just rambling, but I hope I brought up some thoughts.  The fact is, we can whine, complain, and worry about what issues are facing the church today.  But, you and I both know that sin isn’t the victor in the end.  Jesus conquered sin.  Jesus defeated sin.  He stood on top of it and squashed it.  Sin sucks.  I mean, straight up…sin sucks.  But, if we just sit back in our comfortable seats, addressing the issues of sin but not actually going out to say, “Listen, your life doesn’t have to be like this! She doesn’t have to be your role model! You can live an honest life! You can strive after holiness!” then we are just wasting our Christian lives. 

These are the issues facing our generation today. In a round about way, people of all generations have faced these problems…

What are we going to do to heal?

  1. December 1, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Right! There are no new sins, just new and more easily accessible ways to participate in them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

