Home > Book Reviews, Youth Ministry > First Two Years

First Two Years

February 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, as of today, I believe I have been a youth pastor for nine months.  Over the past couple of weeks there has been a lot of reflection and review over the last nine months.  Have I done enough?  Did I accomplish something?  What can I do more of?  What can I do less of?  It’s been a struggle, no doubt.  (Thankfully, in 81 days and 57 minutes I’ll be getting married…and that will ease some of the stress…)

Nonetheless, I had heard of the book “Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry” written by Doug Fields, youth minister at Saddleback Church in California.  I got it last Wednesday and just finished it this morning.  It was a great read and I feel like it has opened my eyes to a lot of different aspects of ministry.  It basically gave me a peace and direction as to how to be “effective.”  So, if you’ve never read it and are looking at student ministry, it’s a must read.  

Next up, “Do Hard Things” by Alex and Brett Harris.  I am wanting to knock that book out quickly and then possibly do a book study with the youth group over it.  I hear its a phenomenal book, so look for that review coming up very soon.

In other news, Run 4 Haiti has received its first donation from a very kind, generous friend of mine.  I also received word that a church has taken on the challenge and different classes will be donating a buck a mile.  That’s awesome and exciting!

  1. February 25, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Ryan,
    You are right. That is a must read for all youth guys/gals in youth ministry. I read it on vacation in 2006. Good stuff.

  2. March 9, 2009 at 9:25 am

    First Two Years helped me deal with the issue of discouragement when I was not seeing the results in youth ministry I had hoped for. Fields honesty is great. It was much appreciated.

    Enjoy Do Hard Things. If you don’t find yourself motivated and encouraged by the end of the book, then….well…trust me you will.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

