Home > Christianity, Media > What’s on your playlist?

What’s on your playlist?

January 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, maybe not what’s on yours, maybe this should be information about what’s on your teen’s playlist?  Or better yet, what’s on your child’s playlist?

Brittney Spears is back at it again in all her subtle glory and charm.  Her new song is getting a lot of attack from different groups because it has actually been released on the airwaves.  I’m not surprised.  As I’ve said before about stars, it’s not the song content that sells, it’s the star’s name that sells the song.  Anyways, her new song is called “If U Seek Amy…”  

Maybe I am out of the loop with pop culture and the teen world, but when I first read the title, I didn’t get it.  Or maybe, it’s just because I am a little more mature than Brittney Spears and whoever else wrote this song is.  When I was in high school and elementary school, many of my friends would combine words or something to make a different word or phrase that was a bit…risque.  Such as, “Hey, spell I Cup!”  And then everyone would laugh at the thought of someone making a potty joke.  Oh, it was funny when I was six.

Well, I missed it in the new Spears song when I first read it.  I hope you did, too.  Let’s phrase it this way: the song is not about Amy.  My guess is, Brittney Spears doesn’t have a friend named Amy.  But…if you say it, it does sound like a series of letters that begin with F, followed by a U, with two other letters…closed up with a second word called, “me!”  Yes, apparently Brittney Spears feels the need to sing a trashy song begging for sex.

I read the lyrics, which are about as entertaining as watching The View.  The song is blatantly playing on this concept.  What worries me the most is the fact that teenagers in our churches could be eating this song UP!   

I remember when Katy Perry’s song “I kissed a girl” came out.  I heard different teens sing the song without blinking an eye.  Could it be the same here?  So, for parents, pay attention.  This song is on the radio, so your students will hear this song.  Chances are, the majority of them will like it.  Better chances are is that they’ll connect the dots about the underlying message of the song and think it is fun and goofy.  Don’t let them be desensitized to this song and its message.

Youth pastors…just know.  I haven’t heard the song yet, and I don’t really feel like I have to.  Just know it’s out there.  Our teens are listening to this crap…should we address it?  Should we only address it if it is out?  How do we treat this issue?

Well, that’s today’s culture awareness.  Until next time, stay faithful to watching The View!

 

PS – for what it’s worth, when Hasslebeck and Rosie fought all the time, I actually enjoyed watching Rosie O’Donnell look like an intolerant jerk.

Categories: Christianity, Media
  1. Shalena
    January 23, 2009 at 4:37 am

    It seems like the mainstream music world has eaten all the stuff it forced down our throats when we were teens, gulped down more foul language and vulgar imagery, and is regurgitating it all over the teens of today. I have heard some of the stuff my sister listens to that doesn’t even play on the radio, and maybe I am too sensitive, but it makes my skin crawl. Especially those artists that talk about going to church, praying for forgiveness, seeking God, and having family values in one song, and in the next, about how life is so much better while drunk and/or high, and how a one night stand with a stranger was worth every lie to a significant other. Ugh.

    But I was glad to find in the youth group newsletter that is sent to parents at my church something that offers slight hope; it was a little music article split into two columns. One side talked about a popular artist from mainstream music, and the other talked about an artist from Christian music that was similar in sound or genre to the first. For instance, one installment could have featured Ludacris next to Lecrae. Unfortunately, I don’t think it is enough to just put these types of issues into newsletters.

    You are right to talk about these things, especially with the youth and their parents. Many don’t think it really matters—“It’s just a song.” “If it can play on the radio, it must be okay.”—but I have seen and felt what certain music can do to a person. Today’s music offers teens little to hope for. When they beg for what Britney is begging for, and real life doesn’t imitate “art,” when they “expand their horizons” like Perry and still feel empty, what then? Sadly, just more of this type thing. They run to it to make them feel something, and when they base their actions on what they now deem acceptable because famous people are singing about it, and it doesn’t have the same ending as their new favorite song, they run right back to feel something more or something different.

    If teens were actually confronted with what they listen to in person, in a discussion setting and could talk about it, and then shown something just as good without all the filth, maybe they would at least consider listening to Christian music. For those that listen to hard rock or emo, let them hear Flyleaf, Red, or The Wedding. For those that like dance beats and punk, let them experience Family Force 5. They want singer/songwriters? Give them Jon Foreman, Josh Wilson, Brandon Heath, etc.

    There is a lot out there, and it is up to everyone who is involved with youth to educate themselves. When I buy cds for my sister as a gift, I find Christian bands that sound like the pop ones she listens to. She enjoys lyrics that are wordy and well written, so I have to find stuff that can’t be chewed up and spit out like bubble gum. It’s not easy, but it works. She may not listen to it all the time, but she does listen, and I know she hears things that make her think.

    Great topic Ryan. I think you being culturally aware and addressing the issues up front can only help the youth you teach. Keep it up.

  2. January 26, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    “I haven’t heard the song yet, and I don’t really feel like I have to.”

    Oh, but you do!

    As an adult, youth pastor, parent, authority figure, it is your responsibility to listen to that song, at least once. Especially if you’re going to recommend that people not listen to it.

    The same goes for books, films, television shows, etc.

  3. teachingyouth
    January 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

    This song is actually being banned from some radio stations…

    http://www.contactmusic.com/news.nsf/article/spears%20song%20could%20face%20radio%20ban_1091615

    it’s nice to know some people still see this as raunchy. She won’t be able to get it played without some controversy..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

