Home > Apologia, Atheist Arguments > So help me God…

So help me God…

January 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

In case you haven’t heard – http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090115/ap_on_go_ot/obama_under_god

It’s such a horrible thing for someone else to exercise their free speech for their choice of religion isn’t it?  

Aggressive atheism at its worst.

  1. January 26, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Just for the record, and sorry I’m coming at this so late, I’m against at least part of the lawsuit that was made.

    First of all, it was Barack Obama’s and the Democratic Party’s party. The U.S. government only paid for security. That being said, I had no problem with them having prayers during the event.

    Nor would I have a problem with, say, President Obama adding “So help me God” to the end of the oath. What I do have a problem with is John Roberts adding “so help you God?” at the end.

    Seems like a small difference, but it’s there. As an individual, any President is within their rights to append to an oath with any religious message they would like. However, by having Justice Roberts recite it as if it were part of the oath is blatantly stepping on the Constitution. The 1st amendment aside, the oath of office is specifically written into the Constitution with no provisos to alter or add to it.

    So while I disagree with the lawsuit that was made here, I don’t think everything was Constitutional at the inauguration.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

