Home > Youth Ministry > Branding Your Youth Ministry?

Branding Your Youth Ministry?

January 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve looked around my town at different names of youth ministries.  I’ve looked on the internet and there are TONS of youth ministries who have names.  Some of them are extreme go-getter names – “The Core!” or “Ablaze!” or maybe “Aliens!” or one of my personal favorites using an acronym “ADHD – Another Devoted Helpful Disciple – Hyper for Jesus!”  For a while, I wanted to get a sweet name for my youth ministry, but lately I have been tossing around the idea.  What are the benefits?  What if we just identify ourselves with First Bible FWB church by calling ourselves First Bible Youth?  In fact, I’ll abbreviate it on calendars and handouts as FBY.  

I don’t have a problem if someone gives a clever name to their youth ministry at all.  If it helps teens identify themselves with the group and helps them belong, I don’t see a problem with it.  But, are there any negative aspects to it?  

I am honestly throwing this around to get thoughts.  What are the benefits of giving a youth group a name?  What are the negatives about naming a youth group (if there are any?)  

And for kicks and giggles – What’s the most ridiculous youth group name you’ve ever heard?

Categories: Youth Ministry
  1. Big D
    January 14, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Ryan,
    I have don’t really know any cool or unusal names. I simply call our N.O.G.Y. New Oak Grove Youth. However, there are things with that ministry that I name. We are about to do a year long emphasis called “365: My Life, Committed to Christ, 365 Days.” This is a thing to promote evangelism, disicipleship, ministry, worship, and service. Also, we are doing a Wednesday thing called “The Garage.” Anyway, I am all for give teens something to latch on to. T-shirts are helpful if you can get them cheap. I know this is random, but just some thoughts.

  2. BG
    January 14, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    I don’t see it as being a big deal if you have a clever name or not. One problem I could see would be the kids being more associated with ABC youth rather than XYZ church that ABC youth is housed in. The could associate more with the group than the church. But I think if the ministry is done properly and there is sufficient interaction between the kids and the church then it shouldn’t be a problem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

