Home > Atheist Arguments, Christianity > Freedom From Religion Foundation

Freedom From Religion Foundation

December 3, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Seriously, these guys are at it again.  It baffles me their fixation with religion.  It’s almost creepy and stalkerish.  

I have no problem with them representing their beliefs.  Go ahead.  But I do have some opinions on how they do so.  

Most recently, the FFRF has posted a sign in the capital building in the state of Washington that has to do with Christmas…er…excuse me, the upcoming Solstice.  

The sign reads, “At this season of the Winter Solstice, may reason prevail. There are no gods, no devils, no angels, no heaven or hell. There is only our natural world. Religion is but myth and superstition that hardens our hearts and enslaves minds.”

Riiiiiiiight.  Hardens our heart?  I’ve heard that phrase somewhere before…oh yeah, the Bible.  Wonder if they meant to do that one?

This is next to the Christian display, put there by another private organization in which there is a nativity scene.  Freedom of speech, sure.  All for it.  My only problem with this goes back to the arguments that so many atheist groups bring out that Christians are intolerant of others.

If you watch this video you can see the interview with the atheist guru behind the sign.  Again, I have no problem with him if he doesn’t believe in the existence of a god.  Interestingly enough, I begin to have problems when the spokespeople for such organizations begin to bash those who have beliefs opposite of theirs.  And just to note, I hate when Christians take the same approach with atheism.  There is a proper way to do it and their is the wrong way to do it.  When someone deliberately mocks and laughs at someone else’s belief, taking on an aura of arrogance, Christian or Atheist…you’re a moron in my book.  

Dan Barker, co-president of the FFRF, says in the interview that I linked to that “December is a natural holiday…”  Not sure what he was getting at with that statement since December is a month and not a holiday, but he goes on to claim that Christianity hijacked Christmas from the pagans, blah blah blah.  Hey, that’s great.  English settlers took this land from the Native Americans…what is America now?  A land of freedom for all people.  What is Christmas now…well, that could go a number of ways…

Anyways, just thought I’d point out another great example of atheist intolerance while calling for equality in the wrong way.  

Amazingly enough, every atheist I’ve ever met and talked to is so wrapped up in an obsession with religion, I don’t understand how they miss it.  Every day they devote their lives to atheism and bashing religion…

It still baffles me how atheists get so ticked off the Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus, and most of the time are in better, more loving, and more tolerant moods.  Oh well, when you hate something that bad, I guess you even hate good things, right?

So, Merry Christmas from this Christian guy.  Know that there is only one God.  

For more information about what the FFRF is up to, check out Pastor Pusch’s blog – Reason’s Greetings.

  1. December 3, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Thanks for the mention! I thought about posting a blog tomorrow entitled “Why Ramadan Doesn’t Matter”. If it did matter, FFRF would be all over them as they are Christmas. That among several others things…

    Anyway… enjoyed the post!

  2. December 3, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    “When someone deliberately mocks and laughs at someone else’s belief, taking on an aura of arrogance, Christian or Atheist…you’re a moron in my book. ”

    If someone where to tell me they fervently believed the Earth to be flat, or that medicine does not actually fix ailments. I would promptly laugh at them. You can call me arrogant if you wish, but that kind of stuff is exactly why the little girl with diabetes died a little while back. If you beliefs get people killed they should be challenged with critical thought by anyone you profess them to. I have no issues with Christians being Christians as long as they aren’t being unfairly represented by the government. Such as nativity scenes on government property and the like.

    Let me clarify: I bash religion because it can and does kill people. I bash religion because I served this country for 4 years in the military, and I’ve most certainly earned my right for equal representation by the government, and when I don’t get it I will speak up. I bash religion for that little girl who died from a treatable disease because her parents thought that prayer would heal her. I bash it for my good friend in Iraq, who has been forced on multiple occasions over there to have stand at attention while some chaplain does some ritual or another before an official military function.

    If you don’t do dumb stuff like that then I commend you and have nothing but fond words for you.

  3. December 3, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Christians are unfairly represented by the government because there is a nativity scene on government property? Are you kidding me? How does this effect you? Are you suddenly required to worship Yahweh? Do you have to attend church every Sunday or risk death? No!

    By your standards, I should get my panties all in a wad and whine that atheists are being unfairly represented by having their intolerant sign up there.

    And, for the sake of the argument…those who think that medicine should not be used and that all aspects of science are wrong…well they are wrong. Amazing though – these are the minority groups of the world, yet atheists pull them out as if they are the majority of Christians.

  4. Big D
    December 3, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Sisyphus Fragment:
    “I bash religion because I served this county for 4 years in the military, and I’ve most certainly earned my right for equal representation by the government, and when I don’t get it I will speak up.”

    First of all, thank you so much for your service. If it was not for men like you we would not have the freedom to have these kinds of discussion openly. I, a Christian, more so than you, would be killed in some countries for even discussing this. So, once again, thank you for your service to our country.
    However, how does serving the country give you anymore right then any other American? You getting equal representation has nothing to do with you or any other person, Atheist or Christian, having served in the military. Let’s say that we, America, never fight in another war until the end of time. Do you think that some dictator will come in here and take away are freedom to express yourselves religiously? I don’t think that is that case at all. This country was built on the basis of the Bible. The founding fathers of this nation, I think, would be so disappointed in what we have let America become. I may be way off base here and would want you to prove me wrong if I am.

  5. December 3, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    What’s so hard to understand about the separation of church and state? That atheist sign shouldn’t be there either, same as the Christian display. In all likelihood, FFRF put that sign there hoping they would decide to remove both, that’s usually how these things work.

    “And, for the sake of the argument…those who think that medicine should not be used and that all aspects of science are wrong…well they are wrong. Amazing though – these are the minority groups of the world, yet atheists pull them out as if they are the majority of Christians.”

    Those are examples of how irrational religion can make people. People get hurt by this stuff. I’m fine with religious folks as long as they don’t hurt people or push it onto the Congressional floor, which is the same opinion I have of atheists. I don’t want “There is no God” on my money, I want no statement, positive or negative, on faith.

  6. jdellis
    December 3, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Good post. Thanks for the read.

  7. December 3, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    You seem to be in the minority of the atheist crowd in that you are at least more tolerant of religion than most.

    Nonetheless, FFRF’s movements are always ridiculously attacking religion. Note Pusch’s blog about the billboards in Philly and D.C. How many Christian organizations are putting up billboards that mock atheism, or any other religion.

  8. Lune
    December 3, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I wouldn’t call people a moron simply because they believe the earth to be flat and medicine doesn’t work. I met a man in Lancaster, CA who claims to have been to the edge of the world and has looked into the abyss. He wasn’t stupid — far from it — but he was misguided, and he wasn’t hurting anybody.

    I have never met anybody who claims that the germ theory of disease is bunk. I have only read about them, but will withhold comment until I have first hand experience.

    However, I have had more than my share of intolerance from every religion imaginable. (I consider atheism a religion, because it sill relies on faith in the absence of evidence. Then again, I consider the Democratic and Republican parties to be religions, too. But that’s just me.) But at least in the United States, and in California where I live, the intolerant ones are the minority. But there are those who are the religious equivalents of radio talk show hosts, like Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hanity, and the crowd at Radio America, who either get paid for screaming and frothing at the mouth about the excesses and sins of the opposition, or get some kind of attention or reward for doing so. They get ink in the paper and time on the airwaves in order to advance their cause, and that’s what the FFRF did, too.

  9. December 5, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    “How many Christian organizations are putting up billboards that mock atheism, or any other religion.”

    I live in Philly, and the billboard here was neither mocking nor inflammatory. It merely said “Don’t believe in God? You’re not alone.” And then the website.

  10. December 14, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Howdy folk,

    As far as the wording of the Constitution goes – freedom “of” religion is correct – however, the deeper meaning of freedom “from” religion is what really counts. I’m sure that each religion appreciates being free FROM the encroachment of other religions upon their personal practices. Baptists and Methodists, etc. appreciate protection FROM having their tithing sent to Rome to support the Pope, etc.

    Atheists just want one more freedom FROM religion than those of any given other religion – freedom FROM every religion.

    I believe that the basic issue with the sign from the Freedom From Religion Foundation (FFRF) in the state of Washington is the same issue that created the original wording of a similar sign placed in the capital building for the state of Wisconsin – namely the religious entanglement of church and state.

    One would think that with all of the tax-exempt church property all over the place – that there would be plenty of opportunity for religious folk to place “nativity scenes” on private property. The issue is when a “nativity scene” finds placement on public property that the entanglement of church and state ensues. The FFRF would never place one of their signs on a private “nativity scene” on private property.

    I fully support what the FFRF is doing with their efforts in breaking up a large number of entanglements between church and state. I am proud to be an Assertive Atheist doing my part in confronting the over zealousness and audacity exhibited by many Theists that believe they have the Right to encroach upon the Public sector – with out and out Propaganda. Although to date, both Theists and Atheists tend to take a provincial view that the contest between Atheism and Theism has only been around for a few thousand years – the truth is that this contest has been going on for better than 2.9 Million years.

    Recently, Assertive Atheists finally speak up and place this contest in the larger human picture.

    On my new Website of http://www.assertiveatheistmoments.com I present a different orientation as to what the Epistemology of Atheism covers. The focus is on Symbols and Symbolic Form (ala Cassirer) combined with Symbolic Anthropology (ala Geertz). Roughly, the orientation is that during the evolution from proto-Homo Sapiens to Homo Sapiens, commencing 3 million years ago, the physical brain size and brain mass increased three-fold, due to the use of Symbols and Tools. During this 3 Million year evolutionary process, the Symbols for Atheism and the Symbols for Theism have also evolved.

    With the written word being around for no longer than 100,000 years, there is a 2.9 Million period during which we know very little about the evolution of the Symbols of Atheism and the Symbols of Theism. It is during this 2.9 Million year period that the origins of the Symbols of Atheism and the Symbols of Theism begin. Although we know little, we can apply Cassirer’s orientations to Symbols and Symbolic Form to learn and Know more.

    This places a totally different take on the notion of Assertive Atheism.

    Bob

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

