The God Delusion

October 24, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hey – I’m finished.  No, really.  After only three months of reading, I finally managed to muster up enough strength to finish one of the most boring books I have ever read.  I had heard so many things about the book, but I was actually unable to find any objections to the fact that God exists – basically the book just follows the idea that Richard Dawkins hates religion, religion is evil, if you believe in a God then you are not smart, and Richard Dawkins hates religion.  See, now you don’t have to read the book.  

I folded down numerous pages in the book so I could post some quotes here, but at the end, I honestly don’t want to put that type of commitment into reviewing that book, because it seriously is one of the most boring books in the world. Dawkins does open up the book claiming that he hopes people will read and become an atheist (hmmmm….evangelism, eh?), but I am honestly thinking that if someone reads that and says that they became an atheist, they were well on their way and Dawkins’ book had absolutely nothing to do with it.  It only confirmed their way of thinking.

The only objections that Dawkins even presents about God is the fact that the Old and New Testament present a horrible God who kills people.  To this, I simply reply: “Come up with your own material, Mr. Dawkins.”  This has been the objection of atheists forever, that God was “an unjust murderer, blah blah blah, I don’t like God.”

I will say that Dawkins also says that he basically believes that Scripture was a giant collusion project.  Hey, if you want to be a skeptic, you’ll create any scenario to make it so, right?  I don’t believe that Richard Dawkins exists now.  I mean, I’ve never seen him.  The pictures and videos I have seen him in are just some delusional guy named Mark Jenkins and he’s from Toledo.  He also can’t write.  It’s just a number of people who don’t know Richard Dawkins trying to exalt his story of the coolest atheist in the world and they’re all getting together.  See?  I don’t have any proof, but I don’t want to believe it, so I’ll just disregard everything and whatnot.  

Finally, I just want to point out the most interesting fact of the book.  Christians and Atheists alike agree upon one of the most interesting facts that Dawkins is one of the most arrogant people ever to write.  His book is very arrogant and degrading (to which he sort of objects to the fact that he feels religions do…).  The thing that has stuck out for me about his book is the fact that the title is much MUCH smaller than his name on the front of the book.  Sure, it is probably marketing, but still, I find it funny that his name is twice as big as the title.

  1. Stacy S.
    October 24, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Well … Did you answer his question? – “Who made God?”

  2. October 24, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Actually, I believe I have answered it. If you read this blog post: https://apologeticyp.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/where-do-you-start/, it addresses the issue.

    If someone has created God, then that means he is not God. He is not the supreme and high power, that there is someone who is more supreme and higher in power than God – Yahweh – of the Bible. This is the step that many atheists have a hard time accepting, because I believe it breaks down walls.

    IF there is a supreme, high, being, then if this supreme, high, being was created, they are not the most supreme, high, being. If someone created God, who created that someone? And who created that someone? At some point, it has to stop, right?

    If these answers don’t suffice, what will?

  3. October 24, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    It does have to stop.

    The universe, in one form or another, always existed.

    Not creator needed.

    You’re welcome. 🙂

  4. October 24, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    We can agree to disagree on one issue, but at least you see my point. 🙂

  5. October 24, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I’m sure you’ve heard this, but for the sake of clarity I’ll explain why the question is brought up.

    Christians will often say “everything needs a creator.” And then they’ll say “God is that creator.”

    The problem is that “god” is part of “everything”, so for the first claim to be true god needs a creator.

    And if you go back, as you have, and say “god doesn’t need a creator”, then we can say “clearly, then, the first comment is false, and some things don’t need a creator. You think that something as massively complex as a god doesn’t need a creator. Then why couldn’t something that is infinitely less complex, the universe, also not need a creator”.

    Anyway, that’s the argument. No need to go back and forth with it, as I doubt we’ll get anywhere. 🙂

  6. kevin5k
    October 27, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    That’s the premise of the book.

    I’m glad I found your blog and that you reviewed this book. I don’t understand what The God Delusion accomplishes. I feel similarly about the tangent books by Hitchens and Harris. And about Bill Maher’s new movie Religulous (at least that one is somewhat entertaining).

    The audience is clearly people who question religion already. What is the point of presenting them with obvious thought experiments?

    As far as the rest of the book — the premise that the world would be better off without religion, that is something that I take huge issue with. Religion is a part of human nature. Yes, it drives some people to do evil things. It also drives some people to do tremendously great things. We could have a logical argument for both sides, but with no way to quantify it.

    Regardless of whether religion is good or evil, it should not be the goal of atheists to eliminate or marginalize religion. At a time when atheists are struggling to be more accepted and recognized, why take such a hostile stance? Why not contrast the humanistic moral code of non-theists with the similarly valid moral code of modern religion and conclude that both can coexist and should be tolerated?

    I think that part of the reason that “atheist” is still a bad word to so many people is the militant and unilateral attitude that many of the people (such as Richard Dawkins) that openly call themselves atheists have. It is unfortunate that these are the loudest and that those of us who want to live and let live are much more quiet.

  7. October 28, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Kevin, thanks for the post, and I couldn’t agree more. Assuming you are an atheist, your post is quite surprising as like you said, the loud and proud group has basically branded atheism as hostile and hating. I’ve enjoyed MorseCode on my blog for a while, as he breaks the stereotype, and like I said, assuming you’re an atheist, I can gladly add number two to the list.

    Likewise, to respond to your last paragraph – it’s funny because Christianity is the same way. Looking at Westboro Baptist Church and others who come out and pronounce God’s impending judgment on America with a message of hate really hurts we Christians who want to take the different approach of love. I suppose it happens with any worlview as you can look at Islam and see the extremists who are hateful, and yet there are many who are peaceful people. Add in whatever people group, and we can stereotype based on the negative loud ones, but we should also remember that each group has wonderful people who I’d gladly converse with.

    Again, great thoughts.

  8. curiouslyinspired
    October 28, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Seems like many people have been obsessed with proving their point. Is there God? Is there none? I can see dozens of ongoing debates going on blogs about this and they all get increasingly irate and confrontational, prove nothing and change no-one’s convictions.

    What irks me personally is when people claim that world’s religions have a monopoly on defining and enforcing moral standards. This cannot be working all that well as else there would be no criminals who follow a faith. But as you say, on the positive side, each group has wonderful people and it’s interesting to have a lively chat, as long as we can strike the right balance – debating interesting questions and not skirt around controversial issues, whilst being respectful to each other.

    Mrakers, I enjoyed my visit to your blog and hope to read more. Thanks.

  9. October 28, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Well, I’m very glad that you stopped by for a visit and do hope that you will come back.

  10. kevin5k
    October 30, 2008 at 9:52 am

    sorry for not writing back for so long…been meaning to, just never found time.

    I am an atheist but I’m somewhat conflicted about it. Humanistic morality and celebration is a major part of my life, but I am vehemently opposed to the “evangelical atheist” movement. At least religion has something to be evangelical about, with atheism it just seems pointless and counter-productive.

    You mentioned WBC, but there are also an equal number of people who’s faith has a profound impact on their lives. I have to admit that I am envious of the faith of people like Ryan Hall, and wish I had something like that to draw strength from.

    As with the likes of WBC, there are plenty examples of atheism being used for subversive reasons. The truth is that with any set of beliefs there will be those who truly respect it and those who use it as a tool.

    I think that there will always be good atheists, bad atheists, good theists, and bad theists. I don’t think there’s anything that can change that and any attempt by atheist “apologists” to marginalize or eradicate religion has only the effect of furthering the ostracision of humanism.

  11. October 30, 2008 at 10:26 am

    “I am an atheist but I’m somewhat conflicted about it. Humanistic morality and celebration is a major part of my life, but I am vehemently opposed to the “evangelical atheist” movement. At least religion has something to be evangelical about, with atheism it just seems pointless and counter-productive.”

    This is a profound statement in and of itself, as I see things the EXACT same way. The Rational Response Squad and Dawkins and others confuse me (as well as many other atheists) who talk about evangelism in a bad way. Yet, they do the same thing. Another issue for another day is simply the fact that they complain that raising children in a religion is child abuse, yet I have to question whether or not these same atheists would ever allow their children to explore religion. I just don’t see that happen. In my opinion, it would be child abuse to allow a five, six, or seven year old (or pick your age, so be that they are a child) to explore something without guidance. Parental figures should ALWAYS be the ones to guide their children. It’s not the schools, the churches even, that are there to guide – the parents take responsibility. While I don’t agree with atheism, Islam, etc., I would obviously expect a good parent to raise their child according to their beliefs.

    Finally, on the issue of Ryan Hall. Even I, the AYP, am envious of the faith of Ryan Hall. I gain a lot of strength from listening to his talks and to read about him. I honestly wish I could have the strength of Ryan Hall spiritually that I have seen (as well as in the Marathon…)

    Assuming that you joined me from RunningAhead – which is such an awesome place. I’ll have to track you down on there and follow your training. Training for anything specific or just recreational right now? I’m just trying to increase my mileage up from 30 mpw to 50 mpw for a spring marathon.

  12. kevin5k
    October 30, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Yeah I posted on one of your mileage increase threads on RA. I’m just a hobby 5ker right now. I run about 50-70mpw but don’t really train in a structured way (usually it’s just 2 45-minute easy runs per day). All of my speedwork comes from races.

    I ran CMM back in 07 and my training was woefully inadequate and though I had a lot of fun, I want to take my next marathon seriously and am going to wait a few years I think.

  13. November 14, 2008 at 10:08 am

    ” Hey, if you want to be a skeptic, you’ll create any scenario to make it so, right? ”

    Aptly put. I have not read the book yet, but maybe I should just “scan” it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

