Home > Christianity, Haiti > Back 2 Haiti

Back 2 Haiti

I like posting on my blog every day.  I don’t always want to have something apologetics or atheism related.  In fact, I don’t always want to have a “Christian” spin on what I write.  I want some light-hearted and humorous things.  One thing that most of my normal readers probably realize I like to write about is Haiti.

This morning, while I should have been working on the youth group lesson (which is almost done…I’m not neglecting responsibility – just postponing) I have found myself surfing the blog-world about Haiti.  One of the most interesting things I have found is that there are many families who are attracted to the idea of adopting children from Haiti.  And the best thing about this….they are white!  As I look at the photos of their children and them together, I can’t help but just smile.  One night, I got on YouTube and just looked up “Haiti Adoption” and found numerous videos of white parents going to Haiti to get their children.  The look on the children’s faces as the parents arrived was priceless!  Skin color means nothing – it’s all about the love of someone.  It truly is a beautiful thing.

As I write this, I continually want to do more for Mountain Faith Mission.  Yes, I have published the website over the past couple of weeks and have gotten a lot of positive feedback on it.  But, I’m not happy just yet with the website.  There is still a lot of work for me to do on the website.  I am just waiting on the information to be sent my way to get the full history and stories behind a lot of the ministries.  Another thing I am excited about is getting our “Orphanage” page fully up and running.  There are some 30 children in the orphanage, who are not all orphans, but just being taken in by the mission for a better way of life.  With that, soon the page will have an interactive page for the orphanage where you can look at each of the children’s picture, and when you scroll over, I hope to have a pop-up window come up with their information.  I’d love for this website to raise support, not just in a Free Will Baptist realm, and not just in people that I know, but I’d love to have support come from people who just happen to look up missions in Haiti.  Technology is a blessing.  

But, the website still isn’t enough for me.  I want to do more.  I realize I post and post about Haiti, and some people who read it are probably tired of it.  Some people probably don’t realize the severity of what is going on down there.  We are neatly wrapped up in our American homes with the pantries full.  We consider ourselves in an economic slump – which we are…but we’re still making it.  And the people who are struggling, they are going to make it.  They still can get their food.  They still have the necessities.  But after Ike hit the island and Pastor Turner sent out and email claiming he was going to send some of the mission leaders to the different churches to find out how many people were going to starve to death, I realized how much we take for granted here.  It’s not a thing that I want people to feel guilty, I just want them to realize.  America is so blessed.  We have money.  We have food.  We have cars.  I heard a figure that 92% of all the cars in the world are found in America….and yet, our brothers and sisters in Christ are starving to death in Haiti.  But it’s not just Haiti, it’s Africa, it’s Asia, it’s South America, and the list could go on.  

What would happen if Christians truly did show the love of Christ to the entire world?  Start of in America.  Love your community.  Be there for those in need.  Don’t ask for anything in return.  Move a little further out.  Before long, Christians can impact this world, but as Pastor Pusch talked about last week – we have so many excuses.  I could write and write about Haiti.  The bad things that are happening, the good things that are happening.  I just challenge you to open your heart to the world.  Make sure you are seeing your neighbor here in America and loving them, but don’t forget about the people in other parts of the world who struggle, too.  

This post was quite jumpy.  I don’t really know what possessed me to write this, but maybe it hit someone.  

If you want more information about Mountain Faith Mission – go check out the site – http://www.mountainfaithmission.com – I’d love for some of you guys to take an interest in the mission – not necessarily for financial support, but maybe that some of you would like to take a trip in with me in the Spring or maybe the Fall.  The people will encourage your heart like no other, and maybe, when you get back, you’ll start making plans that some day, you’ll be that set of white parents going to “Little Africa” to bring your babies home.

  1. October 7, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Hi! We are adopting from Haiti and recently returned from our first visit to meet our baby boys. It is wonderful that God has given you a passion for this country and I hope you do keep writing about it … GOD bless!

  2. October 7, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    We are adopting from Haiti too! Two kids. I too like Stephanie (Hi Stephanie!) just got back from visiting my kids and just booked tickets to head back there in Dec again! It will be my fourth time to visit them this year. I am so ready for them to be home!
    :)Jamie

  3. October 7, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Very awesome, I have a great respect for you guys, you have no idea.

    Some day (down the road – meaning I will be married first) I plan to take the same step. That way I can have my favorite country always with me. 🙂

  4. myhaitianguys
    October 9, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I to have a deep love for Haiti. I meet and became close friends with 6 Haitians who were here for the summer. I would love to blog with you about your missions trips as I prepare to go in December. http://www.myhatianguys.wordpress.com – Rebecca

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

