Home > Christianity > What’s the Sabbath for?

What’s the Sabbath for?

This isn’t a post-modern question – this isn’t, “It’s true for you, different for me, yet still true…”  But, on the Sabbath, how do you spend it?  Being in ministry, I now have Friday’s off from work since Sundays are busy between teaching two classes, sometimes leading singing, among other things.  Granted, Sunday afternoons are relaxing times which are still the Sabbath, yet Friday is my official day of rest, relaxing from all things.  

So my question is simple and straight forward – how do you spend your Sabbath?  

I’ll be honest, mine isn’t near as reflective as it should be, but that brings me to the question – is the Sabbath designed so one can completely relax and recover from the business of life and just enjoy a day that God gave them?

Just wanting opinions.

  1. The Christian Ranter
    October 4, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I think for most Christians the question should be; Do you keep the Sabbath? I find that most of my friends who go to church on Sunday are out working or running their businesses in the afternoon. Somewhere we got lost from where we are today all the way back to Genesis where it says;

    By the seventh day
    God had finished his work.
    On the seventh day
    he rested from all his work.
    God blessed the seventh day.
    He made it a Holy Day
    Because on that day he rested from his work,
    all the creating God had done.

    If it’s good for God, it must be good for me.

    As for our family; we try to get all of our work done by Friday night and then the TV goes off, the computers go off (for the most part) and we try to spend time with each other. On Saturday morning we’re off to church to worship and in the afternoon, it’s outdoors time or visiting with friends. I hate to admit it, but when I was young, I hated the Sabbath, but in college I learned to appreciate it in a whole new way.

    Thanks for asking!

  2. October 4, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    What do I really do on Sundays? Go out to eat and shop! We drive into “town” to go to church so we usually end up running various errands in the afternoon.

    What should you do? Should my wife not work on her masters on Sunday? (That’s been the big question lately.) What did Lord intend with the Sabbath? At this point, I honestly am not sure. I used to be a bit of a stickler, not doing any “work” at all–but that turned into a whole lot of legalism. I know the Sabbath is a special day, and I try to treat it that way, but I guess I’m still learning 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

