Religulous

September 30, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Bill Maher is scared or something.  At least that’s the way I look at it.  After Ben Stein released Expelled back in the Spring, Maher is now releasing Religulous this weekend.  He claims it is not so much a documentary as it is a comedy.  Maher has some great quotes about Christianity – namely the same thing that every atheist says.  Although, in an interview with CBS Early Morning, Maher claims he doesn’t like the word atheist because it identifies with religion.  He claims, “I just don’t know.”  So, atheist, agnostic, whatever, he’s still obnoxious.  I have great respect for some of the atheists that I have discussed with online – they are bright, intelligent people who are nice.  They have objections to Christianity, but they don’t take it out and try to make Christianity look ridiculous.  Maher on the other hand is up there in my books with Richard Dawkins representing the “I’m an angry atheist” mindset.  Not only that, but in the CBS interview, he also basically claims he opposes Palin because she’s a Christian.  Good to know politics is the number one reason Mr. Maher votes for candidates and not personal bias – sure, he has the right to take that into consideration, but he’s completely anti-Christian, thus she loses his vote.  He’s annoying.  Either way, I just wanted to inform people of what was hitting the market this weekend….surprise – someone else hates Christianity!  

  1. DysfunctionalParrot
    September 30, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Maher would sell his soul to the lowest bidder if it meant getting a cheap laugh. Seriously, the guy brings nothing intellectual to the table at all. On so many levels, I pity the man.

    http://dysfunctionalparrot.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/bill-maher-media-whore-of-the-month/

    DP

  2. scaryreasoner
    October 1, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Atheists have no need to make Christianity look ridiculous. It does a fine job on its own. The concept of faith for instance.

  3. October 1, 2008 at 8:29 am

    What is ridiculous to me is the fact that you change the concept of faith into something different for yourself. Every person in the world relies on faith, not necessarily of God – as in your case – but faith plays a role in each and every life. Thus, by saying that faith makes Christians look ridiculous, you’re being illogical. Please, come in and stay a while. My guess is you will never return.

    Please tell me your problems with the concept of faith, and how faith plays no role in your life. I mean, when you went to sleep last night, you assumed you were going to wake up this morning – a sort of leap of _________? Leap of assumption? No, that’s not it. So by saying that Christians are ridiculous for having faith in something, then you too are ridiculous for having faith in something.

    I don’t want to use the wind, but I will. You can’t see the wind, but you have faith that it is there. I know I know, you can see the effects of the wind, thus it is not faith because you know it is there. Wow – great. Need I remind you that Christians over the entire world have seen the effects of God personally? If you scroll down to the beginning of September and read what is happening in Haiti right now in the mission I work with, you’d be hard pressed to convince those people that God does not exist. Not with people who are deathly ill being completely fine. Not with their faith.

    So, scaryreasoner, please join me. Debate. Talk. Don’t run and hide as everyone else who has ever opposed this blog has done. I would love to have a regular reader who hates everything I write. I’m a nice guy. I enjoy talking. But the comment you made about faith being ridiculous shows that you are nothing more than a Bill Maher who wants to poke fun at Christianity but are too afraid and too ignorant to stick around and debate your side.

  4. October 1, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Mr. Akers – I got in my car this morning and assumed it was going to start (it always does) and I am totally lucky that I got to work this morning.

    Great post and reply!
    Pusch

  5. October 1, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Exactly Dr. Pusch…

    If we don’t call it faith, I just want to know what we do call it? I think Shakespeare had some famous quote…”A rose by any other name would smell as sweet…” Doesn’t matter what you call faith – in the end, it’s still faith.

  6. October 1, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Hmm. Bill Maher kind of reminds me of “The Davinci Code” and Michael Moore. He knows how to get Christians undies in a bundle so that they end up talking about his flick, and giving it more air time than it will probably merit on its own. Looks like he succeeded on at least one front.

    As for Christianity being hated. Duh. Any Christian that can’t deal with that has a long way to go. That’s why I find the right wing Christian movement so whack. It is like there is this philosophy that Christianity is supposed to be accepted as the rule of the land, and with blessing and honor to the followers there of. Don’t find that in my Bible. Christianity belongs to a different kingdom, and was never intended to fit right into the flow of culture. It is supposed to be counter-culture.

    Then there is ScaryReasoner. Scary, let me apologize on behalf of a large segment of Christians that would never apologize for themselves. Your three sentence post appears to have seriously rankled our host and author. You have no obligation to debate. And not debating hardly means you are running. Unfortunately, sometimes us “believers” are looking more for a fight and conflict than tuned into the thoughts and reflections of someone who sees things differently than us. I for one don’t think that makes you “too ignorant” or “too afraid.” Though the modern day church has reached the point where even a pastor like myself is “too afraid” to deal with the people inside its walls.

    Personally, I’m a fidiest…so I put great value on faith. Apologetics can have their day, but they will never prove through concrete evidence or factual debate the existence of God. There will always be that chasm to cross. So I choose to take the leap earlier. And as Pascal’s Wager proves out…if I’m wrong, the penalty will not be near as great as the reward if I am right (or actually, if the Bible is right…I didn’t come up with any of this, I just buy into what has already been suggested). So I’ll take my chances.

    And, at risk of my credentials and job (not really)…I couldn’t agree more with your first two sentences. “Atheists have no need to make Christianity look ridiculous. It does a fine job on its own.” You can check out my blog for evidence of that (www.stonewallwesleyan.com). And Lord only knows the other examples out there. For those still in doubt, check out “UnChristian.”

  7. DysfunctionalParrot
    October 1, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    “Atheists have no need to make Christianity look ridiculous. It does a fine job on its own.”

    I can say that about any group. What makes the statement true is that it is true for everyone…even atheists. Lower your expectations of humanity or you’ll walk through life perpetually disappointed.

    We’re all doing the best we can with what we’ve got.

  8. October 1, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Chip:
    Firstly, my blog is set up to discuss apologetic topics. Bill Maher is releasing a movie that is essentially an attack on Christianity. Apologetics would deal with this, thus all I did was make a post informing my some eleven readers of its release…If I give Bill Maher any extra attention because of my blog…I’d be highly surprised.

    Secondly, Christianity is always going to be hated…never denied that. My point is that in today’s culture, atheism has taken a hugely aggressive turn. Look at the Rational Response Squad – their goal is to basically make fun of Christianity until “Christianity no longer exists.” What irks me is that atheism calls Christianity intolerant because of – like you said – the extreme right wing conservatives who try to control every bit of the world, yet they produce movies and books that call Christians dumb for (in the words of Bill Maher) believe a book that has a talking snake. That’s inconsistent as they claim we’re intolerant for evangelizing, yet they are turning around and doing essentially the same thing. Yes, I know that Christians are promised that persecution will come, but it doesn’t say we have to ignore it. To know the persecution and the arguments is my goal with my study into apologetics. My issue with sticking around to debate – what ScaryReasoner said was of no value to the post. If it had been a well thought out post that had objections to Christianity and gave some sort of worthwhile contribution, I would address it in the same way I address you. But, to come in, insult me and all Christians by saying my faith is ridiculous, I simply wanted to point out the error of the argument. I might have been a bit hasty to claim his/her ignorance for the comment, so for that I do apologize…other than that, it is just the normal atheistic concept to make an objection to Christianity and not stick around to engage in a civil conversation.

    Finally, apologetics has its value. I completely agree that apologetics is not going to win an argument. As Kinnaman said in unChristian – only God can change someone’s heart, and with that I whole heartedly agree. What I am seeing is the fact that over the past ten years atheism has increased by some 9% and there is a great exodus of young people from the church. For that I attribute a lack of knowledge about Christianity. My goal as a youth pastor is to teach with the idea of apologetics in mind. If students graduate high school with a solid knowledge of Christianity, allowing their faith to be solidified, then they are less likely to make the exodus from the church, never to return. So for me, apologetics holds a HIGH value. With the attack on Christianity increasing, being knowledgeable about it is necessary.

    Thanks for chiming in Chip. And btw, unChristian was a phenomenal book.

  9. October 1, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    DP – very true point.

  10. October 2, 2008 at 10:34 am

    “They have objections to Christianity, but they don’t take it out and try to make Christianity look ridiculous. ”

    I think your first commenter hit this point, but I imagine Maher would argue that he only points out the ridiculous that is already there.

    “Not only that, but in the CBS interview, he also basically claims he opposes Palin because she’s a Christian.”

    Actually, he opposes her (or so it seems to me, I could be wrong) because she’s a fundamentalist Christian who happens to have an unfortunate combination of ignorance and confidence (in everything, not just her religion) that is frankly quite scary.

    Oh, and I’ll be seeing the film tomorrow myself. He hits Judaism and Islam too, so don’t feel too bad. I’ll post a review after I see it.

  11. October 2, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Ryan – We must remeber who we’re dealing with. For those who have not given true christianity a fair look (Maher), there is reason for it. Here’s what I’m saying…

    “For the message of the Cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” I Cor. 1:18

    I love Macarthur’s commentary on this…

    “the message of the cross” speaks to God’s total revelation, i.e. the gospel in all its fullness, which centers in the incarnation and crucifixion of Christ; the entire divine plan and provision for the redemption of sinners, which is the theme of all scripture, is in view.

    “foolishness” – translates the word from which “moron” is derived.

    “perishing…being saved” – Every person is either in the process of salvation or the process of desctruction. One’s response to the “message of the cross” of Christ determines which. To the Christ-rejectors who are in the process of being destroyed (Eph. 2:1,2) the gospel is nonsense. To those who are believers it is powerful wisdom.

  12. October 2, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Agreed. If you read my post from yesterday (Romans and Atheism) I deal with that very issue. Rejecting God and His existence…claiming to be wise, yet they are fools….it’s offensive to say that, but nonetheless, Romans 1 completely opened up my eyes to it.

  1. March 9, 2009 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

