My Goals

September 15, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve recently set a few goals for myself since returning from Haiti.  Just want to put them in writing so people can ask me about them, and maybe someone can be inspired to set some goals for themselves.  Basically, here are a few of the things I would like to get done within the near future.

1.)  Read half of the books in my personal library which I have never read.  I own lots of books, and I counted up that I haven’t read thirty of the books that I own.  By Christmas, this means I want to read fifteen of them.  Lofty goal, but hopefully I’ll achieve it.  Now, if I can only finish unChristian and The God Delusion.  

2.)  Lose 10 lbs by October 18.  That is about five weeks away.  I have a 5k scheduled on October 18, so I would like to drop to 185 by that day.  Again, a lofty goal, but I have a spreadsheet to track what I eat and how I run for the day.  It is possible.

3.)  Read through the Bible in its entirety by next May.  This sounds huge, but I realize that it shouldn’t be huge at all.  Thankfully, I have a wonderful girl who has agreed to take on this task with me. 

4.)  Read through the Creole Bible in its entirety by next May.  This sounds even huger.  One chapter in the English Bible might take me 5 minutes.  This is two to three times as long.  But hey, I know the word for “bird” now.  

5.)  Learn as much Creole as possible before my next trip into Haiti.  Right now, we are looking at going back in February or March and just traveling on foot to some of the churches in our mission.  I hope this works out.  I would love to be able to communicate more efficiently.

6.)  Get Mountain Faith Mission Orphanage support cards done ASAP.  I have an outline done of them, just have to get information and start inputting it.  With that, I would like to get support for the mission going, too.  Soon to come: a website.  Keep up to date on that one.

7.)  Get a great vision for First Bible Free Will Baptist Church.  I just want to be in such communication with God that I am always vision oriented.

8.)  Pray hard every day.  This should be a no-brainer, but without excuses, life gets busy and I hate it.  Simply put, I want to set aside part of every day to just get on my knees and pray for people and things that should be prayed for.

9.)  Be a better youth pastor.  This one can’t really be “measured” per se, but it’s a goal nonetheless.

I wanted to go to ten, but I couldn’t think of one more.  Guess that gives me all the more reason to work harder at these nine, since I don’t have a tenth one.  I guess I just needed to put these in writing for myself, that way when my deadlines hit, I can know.  Goals are good to strive after.  

What are your goals?

  1. September 15, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I’ll throw out a couple of mine right now. I’ll have to give thought to others:

    1) Read at least 1 chapter of any book on weekdays and at least 2 chapters of any book on weekdays.

    2) Finish a book every week (or every 2 if it’s large)

    3) Learn how to pray (Seriously pray)

    4) Find at least 10 people to join Mocha Club and provide aid for children in Darfur and Sudan.

  2. October 6, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I’ll give you mine

    1) Finish reading Robert Robert E. Picirilli’s commentaries on the New Testament by the end of the year. (I’m currently on I Corinthians)
    2) Read the counterpoint books on Revelation, Arminianism, and Apologetics
    3) Lose 19 pounds by 18th birthday (May 29th)
    4) Read “The Way of the Wild Heart” by October 27th
    5) Pray the way I should pray
    6) Increase numbers at Tuesday evening bible study

    Lots of reading for the both of us, it seems. Good luck. I’ll try to keep up with how you’re doing. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

