Home > About me, Christianity, Missions > Things I Learned in Haiti #2

Things I Learned in Haiti #2

September 10, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

We’re a bunch of spoiled little brats.  No really, Americans are sissies.  The only way to look at this would be to make someone feel guilty.  But for the most part, it seems that is what is needed.  Here we are in America with three meals a day, (four meals if you eat at Taco Bell), when Haiti (as well as numerous countries around the world) is lucky to get ONE meal a day.  

Haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere.  The new church that is being built for the mission…the guys laying the concrete make two bucks a day.  I’m not a great mathematician, but that’s like $700 a year if someone works EVERY DAY.  I could make what they make in a year in ONE WEEK whenever I was in college.  And yet, I had the audacity to complain about a lot of my situations.

We don’t have a big enough house.  We don’t have a nice enough car.  Sometimes it seems that the average American won’t be happy unless they have something to complain about.  We’re a bunch of whiners.  In Haiti I saw people worried about food.  I saw people worried about having shoes to cover their feet.  I saw people worried about how to pay for medicine.  I saw people worry about necessary things for survival.

This is not to say that we shouldn’t enjoy life, it’s just many times it seems that we need to be aware of what it could be.  We need to be thankful for our blessings.  It could be worse.  God has blessed America financially.  We complain about the “economic crisis” which is a legitimate thing to be concerned about, but my question is whether or not some of the people who are concerned about their finances and complaining about them could have prevented it with being better stewards – but that’s another post.  

One thing completely stood out to me and it was the speech of Pastor Wilson one night in church.  Ti-Paul was translating for me and Pastor Wilson was talking about praying for the Americans and whatnot.  Then he said, “The Americans came here because they love us.  God has BLESSED THEM to be able to come down here.”  That stood out to me because I realized how they viewed financial prosperity.  It is truly a blessing to be able to use the financial prosperity that we have for God’s glory.  This money is not mine.  It’s God’s.  

It’s all about a life of surrender to them.  Even in the midst of financial struggle and turmoil, these people still put God first.  Maybe its easier then.  

Spaghetti for breakfast

Americans are sickening folks, aren’t we?  We don’t have to worry about our next meal.  We don’t have to worry about whether or not our house will be wiped away by Hurricane Ike.  We don’t have to worry about whether or not we’ll have shoes to wear.  We worry about how to pay for our third car.  We worry about how to cover our season tickets to the local sporting events.  We don’t worry about the necessary things, we don’t have it.  We worry about the things that aren’t necessary for our survival, and when that becomes complicated, or we can’t have it, then we whine, moan, and complain.  That’s my problem.  I don’t want to be like that.  

We have to humble ourselves and realize it could be worse.  We have to realize that we are a blessed people, and those blessings aren’t supposed to be kept for ourselves, but are supposed to be turned around and used for God’s work.  There’s no way to not feel somewhat guilty when you get back from a trip like this.  I don’t feel that God wants me to eat mud pies, skip half of my meals, and live in poverty, but instead be willing to surrender all of my life, including my financial prosperity and blessings, and use it to the furtherance of His Kingdom.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

