Home > About me, Christianity, Missions, Prayer > Things I Learned In Haiti #1

Things I Learned In Haiti #1

September 9, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t even know where to start with this.  When visiting Haiti, I have learned so much.  I guess we could start with the absolute most important.  

PRAYER IS POWERFUL

We don’t fully understand that in the United States.  We’re too busy in the United States – which causes more problems than just the problem of a lack of prayer.  In Haiti, they believe in prayer.  If something needs to be done, they pray about it.  If something doesn’t need to be done, they pray about it.  While we were at VBS, they were up every morning between 4am and 5am in the church having a prayer service.  During the regular week, they meet solely for prayer at least twice a week.  This is in addition to two or three days of regular services.  They love to pray.

When my father had five bypasses done in August of 2006, we found out that there was at least one person in the church praying for him all day long.  The people promised to pray, and they followed through with it.  Dad attributes a quick recovery to the prayers, especially those of the people in Haiti.  They know how to pray.  

In each of their services they have lots of prayer.  In America, we have an order of when our prayer occurs.  It would be Song, Welcome and Announcements, Prayer, More Songs, Offering with Prayer, Preaching (Possible Prayer), Invitation with prayer, and closing in prayer.  All of these prayers a lot of times are cliche and predictable.  I couldn’t understand the prayers in Haiti, but that’s not the point.  When you look at the crowd and see kids, teens, and adults crying out to God where it appears that they are the only one in church talking directly to God, it impresses something upon you.  They know who they are talking to.

As mentioned, there is a lot of revival going on in the mission.  We were able to hear about healings, revival, and people being delivered from Voodoo.  Pastor Turner then said something profound, but it was not anything new.  He said, “You could have the same types of revival from here in Haiti in America if you prayed more.  But, people in America are too busy to devote that type of time to prayer.”  How true is it?

Since I have been back, I go into the office and sit at my desk.  No phone, no computer.  We have to set ourselves apart in order to pray.  How sad is that?  Some people say, “Well, they don’t have anything down there…it’s easier for them.”  That’s my point.  We’re distracted by stuff.  We’re so distracted by stuff we can’t even give God a portion of our time to pray.  They see healings down there.  They see revival down there.  Why?  Because of prayer.  

There were at least 145 conversions in Massicot because they prayed for revival and then went to do something about it.  How many of our churches in America can claim that number of conversions in the past year?  The past decade?  Unfortunately, not too many.  What would happen if Christians began to pray?  What if we really began to pray?  Not those normal little shallow prayers that many of us pray…”God, help me, bless me, keep me, forgive me.”  What if we pray in Jesus’ name for things to happen?  What if we pray for others?  What if?

Haiti taught me the power of prayer.  There’s no doubt in my mind that people in Haiti are down there praying for Ti-Ken (Ti means little, Ken is my father, thus its their way of calling me his son, and that’s what they call me…).  They pray for me.  They pray for America.  They pray for others.  They pray for salvation.  They pray for revival.  They pray for conversions.  They pray for healing.  They get it.  Ask and you shall receive.  They get it.  

When are we going to get it?  How’s your prayer life?

  1. Lindsey
    September 10, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    It’s like you put my thoughts on your paper. I’m learning all you wrote about and so much more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

