Home > About me, Christianity > Excitement…

Excitement…

My blog the other day about the Olympics had me thinking since then.  (Go Shawn Johnson!)  Yea, I’ll be her cheerleader.  Anyways…as I type this I am watching Team USA Baseball – again, vs. Team Japan.  It’s in extra innings and the stakes are high.  They just showed a clip of Japanese fans standing with their nation’s flags above their head screaming.  As my former post mentioned, during the Olympics, everyone is their nations patriot.  People are watching tv until 1am, not having a clue how the judging goes, and yet when their team loses, they complain and are disappointed.  We cheer like crazy for our team.  

In 2001, I was able to go on a missions trip to St. Croix, Virgin Islands.  That week we held a sort of “youth revival” during the day with the students at the Christian School.  Tim Duncan, star player for the San Antonio Spurs is not only from St. Croix, but he attended the school.  The people there are die hard fans for Tim Duncan.  My father was speaking on day on this very subject of excitement.  At the name of Tim Duncan, they would cheer.

When we look at the television and see Shawn Johnson, Michael Phelps, the “Redeem” Team, or others, as Americans we get excited when they win.  

Let’s look at it differently…sometimes it amazes me in youth services how if the speaker mentions a famous person, the crowd will go crazy.  Some years ago, when I was young and immature (2004), I attended the Dare 2 Share conference in Gwinnett County, GA.  They used movie clips to drive home some of the points.  They especially used the clips from “Lord of the Rings.”  Every time one of these clips would flash up on the screen, the crowd would roar.  I’ve never seen the trilogy, so I don’t get that in the first place, nonetheless, that’s not the point of the post.  

I just wonder how at the sounds of some names such as “USA” or “LOTR” crowds will roar.  People can talk for hours about their obsession with it.  When the women’s marathon was run last Saturday night, I was glued to the tv.  When my pastor referenced it in his sermon on Sunday morning, I was hooked.  I was excited.  It was great.  

Where’s my excitement over my relationship with Christ?

When someone mentions the name of Jesus, do I have the same excitement?  Is He not something to cheer about?  Is He not worth being excited about?  Maybe it’s just me, but it seems too many Christians are doing this backwards…the question is, are we willing to get excited about Christ, even when we know that we should?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

