Home > About me, Christianity > Reading For Your Life

Reading For Your Life

Thanks to an unnamed poster, my life was ruined last summer because of a certain book I was asked to read.  This book pretty much changed my life as it put stuff into perspective that Christianity is a continual learning experience, and to learn, you must read.  You have to understand though, I HATED reading.  I couldn’t stand to do it.  Why read whenever you can watch TV?  Anyways, this book was “A Mind for God” by James Emery White.  Probably my favorite book of all time.  In the back of the book it has “must read” lists, some of which I have read, and others which I haven’t even looked for.  

Like my buddy David, over at iPopCulture.net, I have a hard time finishing books.  I started reading “The God Delusion” about 3 weeks ago.  Shortly thereafter I began reading “Velvet Elvis”.  All of this was going well.  I mean, I had read a combined about 30 pages between the two in three weeks.  (Come on, remember I had TWO weeks of camp to try to survive – I had no time to read.)  Anyways, when I returned from camp, I went to the New Castle Library (which is one of the most amazing places I have ever been.  It’s like heaven for readers and movie buffs.)  When I went, I was going to pick up some movies, and ended up finding out that “The Shack” by William Young had come in, which I had had on hold since mid-June.  So now, I find myself reading three books, very slowly (especially with the Olympics on lately – Go Shawn Johnson!).  

Yet, I am always in a quest to learn a bit more and would love to hear what books have made a great impact in your life.  I’ll get there shortly, for sure, but I still want to know what’s on your “must read” list.  If you read my blog regularly, you’ll find out what books crank my tractor, and what books make me…well I don’t have a good analogy there, but nonetheless….this is your turn to write on my blog.  What books should go on my “To Read” list.  What books have really made a difference in your life?  What books are essential for every Christian/youth pastor to read?

Discuss.

 

Extra/free stuff:  

As of August 14, I finally crossed the much coveted barrier in my running and have officially ran 1000.2 miles in the year 2008.  It’s exciting.

  1. Derek
    August 15, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Ryan,
    First of all thanks for putting me onto “A Mind for God.” I know it is a short book, but it is taking me awhile because it is so eye opening that I don’t want to miss a word. I am currently in chapter 5.
    Second, I hate to read as well. However, once I finished college and set some goals for myself in regards to reading. When I first started reading, it was simply to meet my goals. Now, I love it.
    Third, there are several books that I have read over the past two years that really impacted me. Here is a list of several of them:
    1. The Five Love Languages-Gary Chapman
    2. The Deliberate Church-Mark Dever
    3. Family-Based Youth Ministry-Mark DeVries
    4. Quiet Strength-Tony Dungy
    5. Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry-Doug
    Fields
    6. Rebel with a Cause-Franklin Graham
    7. The Promise-Rob Morgan
    8. Share Jesus Without Fear-Bill Fay
    9. The Washing of the Saints Feet-J. Matthew
    Pinson
    10. Conspiracy of Kindness-Steve Sjogren
    11. David-Charles Swindoll
    12. Esther-Charles Swindoll
    13. Velvet Elvis-Rob Bell
    14. Rock-Solid Teacher-Greg Carlson
    15. The Unexpected Journey-Thom Rainer

  2. August 15, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    How is “The Shack” coming? Are you liking it?
    I really like Phillip Yancey books. I recently read “Posers, Fakers, and Wanna Be’s” By Brennan Manning & Jim Hancock. I liked that book a lot.

  3. Shalena
    August 16, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Hey Ryan,
    Like Derek, you also put me onto a book that you had read, “What’s So Amazing About Grace?” by Philip Yancey, which led me onto two more of his books. “Where Is God When It Hurts?” is his book about pain, and it was really cool to learn a little about how our bodies work and why pain is not a necessarily a bad thing, and I didn’t need a medical degree to understand it. “The Jesus I Never Knew” is what I am reading now, and it really has helped me to know and understand Jesus better by showing me more about Jesus’ life, as well as what was going on in the world around Him at the time of His ministry.
    And I want to read “A Mind for God.” I was thinking about getting a copy to take with me to Montana…if you have any other suggestions they would be welcome…its a really, really long bus ride :o)

  4. Daniel
    August 16, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I Am America and So Can You by Stephen Colbert really changed my life. Seriously, it didn’t but it was still hilarious.

    I’m looking forward to your review of Dawkins’s “The God Delusion”. I hope to read it myself sometime soon.

  5. August 20, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Did they make a movie for “A Mind for God?” I’m hoping it comes to Redbox soon. But truthfully, once I find the book (and pay off my car) I plan on reading it.

  6. Britchie
    August 26, 2008 at 8:49 am

    My cousin recently gave me a book by C.S. Lewis called “Mere Christianity.” He said it was a classic book for the basics of apologetics. Also, the The Case for a Creator drug me back from the edge of letting go of Christianity after taking an AP Biology class that presented Macro-evolution, abiogenesis, and the Darwinian principle of common ancestry. If you want to borrow either one from me, I’ve got them. Have fun in Haiti…I’ll be in my air conditioned house with my girlfriend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

