Home > Apologia, Christianity > Refreshing Update

Refreshing Update

I returned today (well technically yesterday) from the Free Will Baptist National Convention in Charleston, West Virginia.  It was a very good conference with a lot of refreshing messages that spoke to me and rejuvenated me in my ministry.  While there I was able to pick up two new books both by Norm Geisler: I Don’t Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist and When Skeptics Ask.  I haven’t began to read either of them, but I am looking forward to it.

Presently I am reading two books.  One is for a critical critique, as well as a personal edification read of Velvet Elvis  by Rob Bell.  I have read the first chapter and find his views a bit….interesting. 

The other book I am reading is The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. Dawkins is a renown atheist, and this book has been on the bestseller’s list for quite some time.  I have been wanting to read it and found it at the library today.  Quite exciting I must say.  So definitely expect a review/critique of the book as soon as a finish it.  

Finally, I have recently decided to dive personally into the deeper study of the “Jesus Myths,” those supposed myths that Jesus’ story originated from other gods such as Mithra, Osiris, or Horus.  I have checked out a couple of books dealing with Egyptian mythology, and I will begin to pick apart each story.  Some of them might wind up here, who knows, but this is my current interest.  If YOU are interested in the issue, let me know, and as I complete the different supposed god theories, I can send you the files.

Off to bed!

  1. mrwjd
    July 25, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Let us know when you start studying the gnostic documents, will you?

  2. July 25, 2008 at 11:12 am

    For sure will. That’s also on the list to study at some point. Thanks for reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

