Home > Christianity, Sharing Your Faith > Just Walk Across The Room

Just Walk Across The Room

I finally finished the book today.  I must recommend it to any Christian, as it really presented evangelism in an easy way….such as, well, just walk across the room and become someone’s friend.  It seems to me that there are way too many “programs” for evangelism today.  While these definitely have their value, to me, Hybels hits the point home by getting evangelism to where it is supposed to be.

I won’t muddy up and summarize the book, but I will say this…look around you.  The people that you have relationships with…why do you have the relationship with them?  Maybe that bank teller that you’ve kind of gotten to know each week when you do your deposit was put into your life so you can somehow make a friendship with them.  Or maybe, that neighbor who just moved in, was somehow led to that house because you lived next door.  Will we see the fact that there are divine appointments waiting around every corner that we turn?  When we start to see things in that light, maybe our lives will take a different direction.  One where we look at people as people who need Christ, and stop worrying about what people think about us.

  1. July 14, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Just remember when you walk across the room and befriend someone, there greatest need is not friendship but the gospel. Remember at some point you still need to witness to them.

  2. July 14, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    That was the gist of my post. You build relationships in order for the Gospel to be presented….

  3. July 14, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I went through Just Walk Across The Room and I’ve also gone through The Way of the Master (www.wayofthemaster.com You should check WOTM out.

  4. July 14, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I’m familiar with WOTM, I just don’t like Comfort and Cameron.

  5. July 15, 2008 at 1:28 am

    They seem nice to me. Do you mean their methods? What problem do you have?

  6. July 15, 2008 at 1:41 am

    If you have time to sit down, look at their YouTube videos where they debated the Rational Response Squad last May. If was horrific. They claimed they could prove the existence of God scientifically without using the Bible. What do they do? Dive right into their method of using the Ten Commandments. I think the method is great, don’t get me wrong. But if you break the rule of the debate you’re doing, you lose from the get-go. Then, on top of that, they just seemed ill-equipped and did not present Christianity in an intelligent light. I mean, honestly, using the banana, we’re going to prove the existence of God? Do they live in today’s society when people have 34 degrees. When it comes to apologetics, I think they failed, and they failed miserably. When it comes to evangelism, I think they have a valid method, but I don’t like the way the videos show it a lot…seems to me it makes them too “macho” and “cool.” I dunno, the whole RRS vs. WOTM debate really made me look at them with negative eyes. If you claim apologetically that you will debate someone, then come prepared and know what you are doing. Don’t bust out pictures of “transitional animals” and expect INTELLIGENT atheists to buy into it. I just think they did a bad job, and for that, I have a problem because if there was someone on the fence of God’s existence and non-existence who saw that debate, no doubt, they would forget Christianity. If the presentation had done it well, I would have no problem, but it seemed worse than high schoolers who can only say, “Goddidit”

  7. July 15, 2008 at 1:42 am

    By the way, thanks for hanging out here. I saw your site and like it. Seminary in NO…nice. I’m holding off on the seminary track for now…just started my first ministry job. Hope you stick around.

  8. July 15, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Oh ok. Many people have those objections to them. I understand it, but there are some misconceptions too. For instance, they did not claim they would not use the Bible in the debate. They claimed they could prove the existence of God without needing the Bible. They did that at the very beginning by explaining every building has a builder, every painting has a painter. Creation must have a Creator. Where would we have come from? That was what was meant, but many people thought they meant they wouldn’t use it at all.

    The banana argument was tongue-in-cheek and taken out of context. It was meant to be used with the Coke can, but they didn’t show that in many edited videos out there online. In fact, in one of Ray Comfort’s books he mentions how Kirk Cameron warned Comfort that would happen. So they knew the risk that it would be taken out of context.

    Their main goal was to get the gospel out to a large audience, which I’m sure we all agree is the power of God unto salvation.

    I’m ok if you don’t particularly like them or how they do things. I just wanted to let you know those things above because a lot of people don’t know.

    I’m glad you enjoyed my website. Yeah, I’ll e going to New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary in the spring. Well, technically I’ll be going to the school’s undergrad program called Leavell College.

    It may be elsewhere on this blog, but what is your ministry job? 🙂

  9. July 15, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Actually…it was clearly stated and agreed upon that they would prove the existence of God scientifically without using faith or the Bible. Those are the words out of Brian Sapient’s mouth….

    Video – here – http://youtube.com/watch?v=a0EEBuU-Psg

    I’m just a small town youth pastor. Not much more to explain than that.

  10. July 15, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    It was not agreed upon. See the correction at the end of this article: http://www.christianpost.com/article/20070429/evangelist-challenges-atheists-to-debate-on-abc.htm

    Also, Ray talks about it sometime on WOTM Radio if you are interested in looking in the archives.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

