Home > Apologia, Atheist Arguments > Some people believe anything…

Some people believe anything…

When I was a young lad, about four years old or so, the movie Ghostbusters was the stuff.  I mean, who didn’t love them?  They were so popular that one time I tried to call them.  I remember it vividly as my brother and I were in my dad’s “study” – which was more of a junk room – but anyways, I remember Brandon told me, “The number to the Ghostbusters is 9-1-1.”  In my genius moment, I picked up the phone and called them, but some impostor answered and I was deeply saddened so I hung up.  They called back, talked to mom, and for some reason, I got in trouble for it.Ghostbusters

Today’s society has some pretty funny people in it.  Some people are skeptical of everything.  There are people who don’t believe we landed on the moon.  There are people who find a conspiracy in every event that happens in the world.  Some people think that the whole JFK assassination was a conspiracy…oh wait, I might be in that crowd, but anyways, people are skeptical of everything. 

Then of course, there are those people who believe anything.  You probably remember that girl from high school or in your youth group who you could always get.  In my life, I’ve convinced people I was friends with Rascal Flatt’s bassist, an author of children’s books, and that 48% of all deaths in Hawaii are caused by archery accidents.  It’s funny to me how trusting some people are of information that are presented to them.  When we break it down though, today’s society seems to accept a lot of information.

Today’s youth have some messed up views about religion.  Do any type of research and you’ll see there’s an increase in atheism nationwide.  Why is this?  Well, when I first began to do my research into the issues, I encountered a lot of scary information.  What are some of the things you can find on the internet?

1.) The Jesus vs. Greek/Egyptian/Roman/Misc. god Myth
    
I think the first time I heard this one, it was a parallel of Jesus and Hercules.  Since then, I have heard of Horus, Attis, and Dionysius, as well as pretty much any other god you want to name.  Here’s the premise using Horus:

      1) Horus was born of the virgin Isis-Meri on December 25th in a cave/manger with his birth being announced by a star in the East and attended by three wise men.

      2) His earthly father was named “Seb” (“Joseph”)

      3) He was of royal descent.

      4) He was crucified between two thieves, buried for three days in a tomb, and resurrected.

The list could go on and on.  I have found numerous pages that list these different things.  When I read all of this information I gasped.  I said, “How could this be?”  When it is presented this way, it sounds convincing.  I mean, if you look at these biased atheist websites, they present it in such a way that it’s convincing.  It’s scary.  Obviously, do a little research…look here to read on the whole issue.  

2.) There are too many contradictions in the Bible

Interestingly enough, when you read some of these, you don’t know how to answer.  I mean look at this…

WHO WAS SALATHIEL’S FATHER?  JECHONIAS OR NERI?
Matthew 1:12-13  And after they were brought to Babylon, Jechonias begat Salathiel; and Salathiel begat Zorobabel; And Zorobabel begat Abiud; and Abiud begat Eliakim; and Eliakim begat Azor; (KJV)    


Luke 3:27  Which was the son of Joanna, which was the son of Rhesa, which was the son of Zorobabel, which was the son of Salathiel, which was the son of Neri, (KJV)

or

WAS JESUS TAKEN TO JERUSALEM, OR EGYPT, AFTER HE WAS BORN?
Luke 2:21-22  And when eight days were accomplished for the circumcising of the child, his name was called JESUS, which was so named of the angel before he was conceived in the womb.  And when the days of her purification according to the law of Moses were accomplished, they brought him to Jerusalem, to present him to the Lord; (KJV)    


Matthew 2:13-14  And when they were (the wise men) departed, behold, the angel of the Lord appeareth to Joseph in a dream, saying, Arise, and take the young child and his mother, and flee into Egypt, and be thou there until I bring thee word: for Herod will seek the young child to destroy him.  When he arose, he took the young child and his mother by night, and departed into Egypt: (KJV)

Well, this blog has already gotten longer than I intended.  But I posted these things with no answers…1.) so I can address them later, and 2.) To make you research and find the truth.  

Overall, my point was the fact that people are willing to believe anything.  At the first sign of something being seemingly “unproven,” this generation accepts it willingly.  It’s sad to me, because there are many youth of today’s Christian culture not grounded in their faith, thus when they hear these arguments, and more, they turn and run from Christianity calling it a fable.  

What do you believe?

  1. July 3, 2008 at 4:33 am

    You’ve definitely hit the target with this blog. People do and WILL believe anything that seems to sound logical.

    My sister, however, seems to be one of the rare people who is very rational when it comes to certain topics. She won’t believe it right away until she finds evidence to back it up. She is very liberal and is hard core pro-choice on abortion and gay marriage. I tried to get her to understand that it says in the Bible that homosexuality is an abomination. As I tried to explain that to her she came back at me with so many questions that I almost felt myself beginning to agree with HER!!! Luckily the Lord intervened and those thoughts were quickly erased.

    My question is….how do I answer these questions in such a manner that I don’t sound ignorant? I feel like I’m not knowledgeable enough to fully explain my beliefs..if I sound like I really don’t know much about the topic, how am I to witness to her?

  2. July 3, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    1.) We don’t have to have an answer for everything. One thing I have figured out, is these people who are against Christianity are VERY knowledgeable. They’re too smart for their own good.

    2.) If you feel ignorant on the issue….study it.

  3. ccollins01
    July 4, 2008 at 4:03 am

    It is quite interesting to look at the spectrum of what people will believe. Yes, there are those who will accept pretty much anything that they are told without question. Those people I often worry about. They often run from Christianity because someone told them something that they accepted as truth. Then later they turn right around and throw those same “evidences” or facts back at Christians without learning any more themselves.

    Most of the arguments I have encountered against Christianity are often from intelligent people, but the arguments seem to key into emotional strings and emphasis there rather than on the facts of their arguments.

    If I don’t know an answer to a question someone asked me, I have learned to simply be honest and say two things…
    1. “I don’t know…”
    2. “… but I’ll find out and get back to you on that.”

    As for witnessing to family, that’s a tough one. After all Jesus was in his home town a “prophet without honor”. My simple suggestion is by using lots of prayer, patience, kindness and leaning on God to give you the words to speak.
    <

  4. mrakers
    July 4, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Thanks for the reply. And yeah, the not knowing, number 2 is a very important issue to address. You can’t just leave it at, “I don’t know” but instead, it has to make some sort of impact to the point that you are willing to dig deeper for your sake, as well as theirs.

    Again, thanks for posting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

