Home > About me > Welcome

Welcome

Well,

Here she is.  My attempt at a blog to entertain and give people a place to think and talk back to me.  As you can see by my title, I love apologetics, so this is something I am going to try to post a lot about.  I believe this is a very beneficial and neglected topic within Christianity.  It’s not so much something that I feel needs to be studied in case you ever meet an atheist on the street, but instead, something to be studied in order to actually know what one believes.  Today’s society is full of Christians who are Christians simply because they don’t know what else to do.  They were born and raised in a Christian family, thus they are Christians.  They can quote Scripture, they can lead someone to Christ, and they can sing all the stanzas to “Just As I Am.”  Sound familiar?  Well, it did to me.  As I began to get a greater interest in apologetics, I began to realize I didn’t know enough.  After talking with numerous atheists and others, I began to realize I was slacking in my relationship with God.  Sure, I understand a lot of concepts the average Christian doesn’t.  I have a degree in Bible.  But is it really enough?

In all of this time, I began to become convicted at my Christian walk.  Not in the sense that I had suddenly began all of these bad habits which Christians deem “the big ones,” but instead I realized that I was ignorant about many of the issues which surround Christianity, with special attention to Christian History.  It was at this point in my life that I ran across the verse in the Bible found in Revelation 3:2 – “Wake up! Strengthen what you have left before it dies completely. I have found that what you are doing is less than what my God wants.”  These words jumped off the page as I began to realize, this is the culture in which we live.  How close are we to our faith falling and dying?  

Contentment is one of the biggest dangers facing the Christian church, and I hope that through this blog, not only can I challenge my own faith, but maybe somewhere I can challenge someone else’s faith.  Not every blog is going to be a deep apologetic focused post, but I hope that those who read demand it, so it forces me to study longer and harder.  

Well, there it is.  The first post.  I hope you come back for more.  Who knows what will pop up here.

Categories: About me Tags:
  1. July 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    nice! i look forward to reading your stuff on such an important topic.

  2. July 2, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Hey man. Good thoughts.

    I have lots of questions all the time about my faith. It would be really refreshing to ask someone and them tell me that they don’t know. You know?

    So apologetics is good, like you said. It alone is not going to win someone to Christ. That’s through our love.

    But I’ve found that sometimes, maybe, it’s good to say, even to our kids, “I’m not sure.”

    I’ll be working on a future blog, too. I’ll let you know when it’s up.

  3. July 2, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Ryan, I think this is great.

    I’ve been struggling a lot lately with my faith. Not in that I don’t believe but rather I’m trying to figure out why God allows certain things to happen to Christians.

    I’m looking forward to reading your posts.

  4. Hannah
    July 3, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Hey. I look forward to keeping up with this blog! Do you have an apologetics study Bible? I hear they’re very helpful in this area.

    Good luck with the huge subject you’re diving in to!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

